Tuesday, 15 May 2018

BEWARE scammer leaving post on your website

There is not a week passing by without having to deal with a scam!

These guys think we are stupid.

They try all tricks in the bag but so far have not caught me.

Today I had a message left on my website: http://www.beatricecloakewatercolour.co.uk

I thought you would like to know, it looks like you've misspelled the word "Sargent" on your website. Silly mistakes can ruin your site's credibility. In the past I've used a tool like SpellingScan.com to keep mistakes off my website. -Scott Matthews Sr.

The one mistake made by Mr Matthews was to mention "Sargent".
I know I have a watercolour website but at no time, have I mentioned "Sargent" who was a brilliant watercolorist.

I have made some research. My provider told me he came from Canada.

Other research warns the site is infected with viruses... while some other points out the present the site is genuine and safe.

So shall we say, may be he is not a scammer but a Spammer.

In other words: A pain!!!


Unknown said...

Received exactly same message with « acheivement » instead of « sargent ». Trying to thank the author for the hint, the reply was returned « undelivered ». Checking back, I never used the word acheivement in my web site! Should have checked first and not reliĆ©e?

Anonymous said...

just got the same so very useful!

Anonymous said...

Hi, Beatrice. I just got a message from a "Scott Matthews, Sr." (email scottmsr@gmail.com) with the exact same wording, using a supposedly misspelled word that doesn't even exist on my site. He recommended that SpellingScan.com. I did a search on both, and it's a website with no Google information, and a very bland page with a tool to scan websites....it breaks words into pieces and calls them "silly errors" that will "ruin my credibility." A total scam. There are, however, a lot of mentions all over the internet of them trying to lure us there. The funny thing is, I'm a legal and medical editor and proofreader...he targeted my website. This yahoo thinks/hopes I'll fall for it and just let his "service" crawl my site. Nope. We need to keep the word out there about this kind of thing so people don't expose their website or email to God knows what. Have a great day. :) Mary

Unknown said...

I got an identical email from the same guy! A year later and he's still at it!

Unknown said...

Thanks! I just got this same message from Scott Matthews Sr.!! Yes, a pain for sure...

Anthony said...

We just got the same email from the same person on our website but with the spelling mistake "dont". After some excessive searching, we were unable to find the mistake on any of the pages. In trying to respond to the writer, we discovered he used a fake email address. So yeah this guy is definitely a spammer.

Thanks for the post! Helped me realize I wasn't just going crazy.

Anonymous said...

Ha, I was emailed by the same Scott Matthews Sr. today commenting I had misspelled some word as well. Exact same email, except I had not used the word he mentioned anywhere.

Unknown said...

I had one today. Telling me that I've spelt "accommodation" wrong etc but I sell handmade shampoo bars and conditioner bars and don't use the word accommodation in any context. I triple checked my site and then decided to google it and came across your post. I tried emailing him back to ask where he saw it and the email bounced. Will spread the word now to my business friends.
www.rushorganics.co.uk ;)

lava holidays said...

Emm just came across your comment regarding getting an email and the misspelling of Sargent.

I too have received the same email from Scott and it looks very much that your right he probably is a spammer.

Nice to see that you are warning people as again your correct the volume of scammers are so bad I have had to contact the fraud police with a few phone numbers detailing the scam.

Not that the police actual do anything, that we can see.


Anonymous said...

I just received the exact same message with another 'misspelled' word. Thanks for the comment<!!

Unknown said...

Thanks for the warning! I just got the same one myself and your post probably saved me a virus.

Sharon said...

Hello, I just got a message on my website https://www.sugarapple.net.au/ with exactly the same message except that I had misspelled the word 'rigour' -- which I had on two blog posts, in one post it was spelled 'rigour' (British spelling) and on another post it was spelled 'rigor' (American spelling). Both are correct, but this person said exactly the same thing you quoted. So you are right -- a spammer!

Bo said...

I got the same exact message on my website for supposedly misspelling "Commission." At no point on my website do I use that word.

Glad you confirmed my suspicions. Thanks!

Will said...

Thanks for the tip. I received the below. What a lowlife

Name: Scott Matthews

Email Address: ScottMSr@gmail.com

Subject: Misspelled Word

Message: I thought you would like to know, it looks like you've misspelled the word "enfant" on your website. Silly mistakes can ruin your site's credibility. In the past I've used a tool like SpellingScan.com to keep mistakes off my website.

-Scott Matthews Sr.

Anonymous said...

I just received a message from this person as well...

You've just received a new submission to your Contact Form.

Submitted Information:

I thought you would like to know this link is broken on your site: (link to my site I haven’t clicked)

There are tools you can use to scan for these types of mistakes. One I've used in the past was SpellingScan.com (they do more than just spelling) but there are others as well.

-Scott Matthews Sr.


Scott Matthews

Anonymous said...

Thank you for posting this, I just received an identical email, except for the supposedly misspelled work. Good to know it's not genuine.

Unknown said...

It must be some kind of scam or at the very least a ploy to drive traffic to the website, as I got the exact same message this morning but with the word 'atleast' apparently showing on my website. Having gone through it manually and with Grammarly, there is no such mistake, so I think best to avoid the site.

Anonymous said...

I got this too. His name was Sean Thompson Sr. What made me think twice is that when you google there is no site description on google.

Anonymous said...

I just got a message like this as well. The same exact wording, but they mentioned that the word a different word that was spelled wrong. They also said they were from Canada, but went by a different name. They said they used the site “Spellscan.com” which appears to have no credibility.

Ronald (www.pmachinery.com) said...

I received a similar one today:

Email: phillips609@gmail.com
Text: It looks like you've misspelled the word "Liste" on your website. I thought you would like to know :). Silly mistakes can ruin your site's credibility. I've used a tool called SpellScan.com in the past to keep mistakes off of my website.

Still active!

Unknown said...

Guys, thank you a lot! I received an identical message from Kerri Allen. He spelled word fire as "fier".

Philip said...

Still happening in 2020, just received one declaring a spelling typo on my site. I specialise in Still Life and it informed me of the word "lifes" plus of course a mention of spellscan.com.

Checking access logs they also appear to be coming from Canada.

Keep your eyes open and think logically.


Unknown said...

I just got one as well from a Kerri Walker. I had a bad feeling about it and sure enough this is happening a lot.

Anonymous said...

I have received the same too. Do not trust it.

Anonymous said...

I have received the same email using the same words. Spam and or virus. Best to avoid.

Cocker spaniel portrait in Coloured pencils

  I do love creating portraits, either human beings or animals. Finley was happy to pose to be captured for this portrait... Coloured pencil...